BOOK REVIEW: Vampyre Labyrinth: Dust Blood  

Posted by Scott Wilson

Title: Vampyre Labyrinth: Dust Blood

Author: G P Taylor

Publisher: Faber

RRP: $15.99

ISBN: 9780571226962

Release Date: March 2011

Pages: 368


The second installment in the gripping new vampire series that began in Red Eye, set against the backdrop of Yorkshire during the Second World War.


Jago could feel the teeth sink into his skin. It burnt like a fire of molten lead that trickled through his veins.

Jago Harker is trying to adjust to his new life at Hawks Moor. But when news reaches the house of a madman on the loose killing Vampyres, he knows it's only a matter of time before they come for his companion, Biatra. As the Second World War rages all around, Vampyre is set against Vampyre when two factions of the ancient cult clash in violence. And as he prepares to go to war with his greatest enemy yet, Jago will soon discover the truth about his own identity in a world where true power lies in the hands of the blood-drinkers and where, even in love, no one can be trusted.

About G. P. Taylor

G. P. Taylor is the author of several best-selling novels, including Shadowmancer, Shadowmancer: The Curse of Salamander Street, Wormwood and Tersias, as well as the Mariah Mundi trilogy. A former vicar of Cloughton in Yorkshire, he has enjoyed a varied career, moving from rock music to social work to ten years in the police force before his ordination. He now lives with his family in Scarborough.


GP Taylor’s latest children’s fantasy and second in his Vampyre Labyrinth trilogy is about Blaine a vampire hunter, and the silent and suspicious occupant of this grim castle is a vampire. A vicious fight soon ensues….

The book is set in Whitby, where we encounter Jago Harker, hero of Red Eye, the first novel in the series. In Red Eye, the newly orphaned teenager was packed on a train to the north to escape the London blitz, arriving in a sinister, spooky Whitby where he knew nothing and no one.

As Dust Blood begins, Jago is adjusting to a new life at Hawks Moor. But the vampires are afoot, Biatra is in danger – and Jago discovers that no one can be trusted. The second novel in the series is even more frightening than the first.

This entry was posted on Tuesday, April 5, 2011 at 1:40 AM . You can follow any responses to this entry through the comments feed .


Post a Comment