CD Review: Betty Blokk Buster Follies by Reg Livermore  

Posted by Scott Wilson

Betty Blokk Buster Follies
Reg Livermore
Retail $14.95 inc GST

Code: POS 5012
Possum Records

1. Cabaret - Tiller Girls

2. Family Of Man
3. Money
4. Voice Of Experience
5. Hello In There
6. Captain Jack
7. Last Cigarette
8. Matrimony
9. What Makes A Man A Man
10. Long Tall Glasses
11. The Entertainer
12. Is That All There Is
13. Walk On The Wildside
14. Train
15. Travelling Prayer
16. Ticking
17. Celluloid Heroes
18. Silverbird
19. The Show Must Go On
20. S.O.L.O.


While I have heard of Reg Livermore before, I had never heard this album from the 70's by him. Reg is a well know Australian singer, actor and star of the theatre.

Betty Blokk Buster earned 1 Platinum and 2 Gold records back in the 70's when it was originally released, with the album reaching number 15 in the Australian Charts, and remaining on the charts for over 1 year.

Betty Blokk Buster Follies is a one man theatrical show by Livermore, with many showtunes, writen either by Reg or other famous musicans. I wasn't sure whether to take this serious or if it was just a light hearted, tongue in cheek performance paying out on the theatrical musical genre inspire by Gilbert and Sullivan.

As with all concept albums, this one will appeal to a specific audience and market at the exclusion of others. It is really a CD that needs to be listened to from start to finish to follow the story of the characters, rather than an album that you can pop on and listen to driving to work in the morning.

This entry was posted on Thursday, December 30, 2010 at 12:12 PM . You can follow any responses to this entry through the comments feed .


I saw the show and has never left my mind, also his next 2... he is fantastic and perhaps he was so entertaining even my very stoic husband at the time seemed to enjoy and did not pull the poster of reg, (he was sexy man) from my wall. That came years later.
What performances!!!

August 24, 2011 at 8:55 AM

Post a Comment