Sunday, June 12, 2011

BOOK REVIEW: Doctor Who: The Episode Guide

Title: Doctor Who: The Episode Guide

Author: Mark Campbell

Publisher: Pocket Essentials

RRP: $29.99

ISBN: 9781842433485

Release Date: January 2011


This new, updated edition of the Pocket Essential guide puts all the Doctors under the microscope with facts, figures and opinions on every Doctor Who story televised, and includes the 11th Doctor, Matt Smith.


If you are either a long time fan or newbie to the world of Doctor Who, you will find this Pocket Guide interesting. While not the most definitive guide to every episode, it does touch briefly on all of them. After an introduction tracing the history of Doctor Who through all the character's incarnations this book offers a story by story analysis spanning the full 26 years of the TV series plus the 1996 Paul McGann TV movie.

The look of this book is superb, at least on the outside. Also the inside cover is graced with a wonderful black & white photo of the Daleks marching on London, with Big Ben in the background. Campbell manages this extra size without rendering the book too bulky, thus keeping its status as a pocket reference guide. Also, there is a section on the episodes of the new series, up to and including The Runaway Bride, a two-page section on various Doctor Who reference books, and a two-page section on web sites geared toward Doctor Who. The section on the different Doctor Who spin-offs is expanded to include Attack of The Graske, Torchwood, and The Sarah Jane Adventures from the new series.

No comments: