Pages

BOOK REVIEW: Red Glove  

Posted by Scott Wilson

Title: Red Glove


Author: Holly Black

Publisher: Gollancz

RRP: $22.99

ISBN: 9780575096769

Release Date: June 2011

Pages: 272



Description:

A changed world, an America where Magic is prohibited - Holly Black's sensational new fantasy series continues.

The Sopranos meets Six Feet Under - a wonderfully dark, supernatural vision of modern day America.

Cassel has discovered the dark secret of his past, the secret that set him apart from his family. Now he must take his new knowledge and his new powers out into the world.

A dark and twisting contemporary fantasy set in a beautifully rendered, subtly different world this is a wonderfully nuanced and involving fantasy, at once melancholy, ironic and terrifying. It is perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Holly Black is the co-creator of The Spiderwick Chronicles. A New York Times No. 1 bestselling phenomenon, the series has been described as 'vintage Victorian fantasy' and has been made into a hugely sucessful film. The books have been translated into 32 languages. Holly Black lives with her husband in Massachusetts.

Review:

What a great sequel!! I absolutely love Holly's writing. She creates such a vivid world and makes me not only fall for Cassel but I end up loving the characters she's created no matter how broken or messed up they are. In Red Glove, the intensity gets raised to a whole other level when Cassal's older brother is murdered and Cassal finds himself helping the Feds who have only one clue; a photo of a woman in red gloves. If that weren't bad enough, there's also the drama concerning Lila and her 'phony' feelings for Cassal courtesy of his emotion worker mother.

After the cliff-hanger ending that was the last page of White Cat, I really was excited to get Red Glove into my grubby little ungloved hands. Red Glove is irresistible. From the blood-red leather glove on the front to the talk of mobs, crime families, and cons in the back, the second book in Holly Black's Curse Workers series is dangerously good

Red Glove is a very quick, engaging read and I love all the twist and turns that Holly continues to throw in this series. The Curse Workers series is fascinating, and edgy. I cannot wait for Blackheart's release and I recommend picking up Red Glove today

This entry was posted on Tuesday, July 12, 2011 at 1:32 AM . You can follow any responses to this entry through the comments feed .

1 comments

Nice review!

Check out my review of Red Glove:
http://readingwhiledreaming.blogspot.com/2011/08/red-glove-review.html

August 11, 2011 at 1:07 AM

Post a Comment